Home > Devotionals > An Indescribable Gift!

An Indescribable Gift!

December 14, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments

Gift 3Every year, I give what I call my “Reason for the Season” gift.

It’s a present  to remind each recipient of why we celebrate Christmas in the first place. My “Reason for the Season” gifts are never very elaborate. Most of them are simply stocking stuffers and cost very little.

These gifts can be as simple as a bookmark with a Scripture on it or a key chain with a Christian symbol swinging from it. During past Christmases, I’ve given a calendar or a devotional book. For children, I’ve put Veggie Tale toys and Bible story DVD’s under the tree. I’ve also given mugs and ornamental plaques with Scriptures on them.

I started this practice several years ago when my daughter was a teenager, and I suddenly realized the true meaning of God’s “gifting” us with His Son was being lost in the hustle and bustle of checking things off her Christmas wish list. Now, purchasing these “Reason for the Season”  items from a Christian bookstore a few weeks before the big holiday seems to take the edge off the Christmas rush and serves as a reminder of the purpose of this celebration.

Truly, the “Reason for the Season” is a tiny helpless baby sent by a powerful, holy God to rescue a hopeless fallen sinner.

“Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift.” 2 Corinthians 2:15: 

Categories: Devotionals
  1. December 20, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    I love the simplicity of it! Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Like

  2. December 21, 2016 at 2:21 pm

    And to yours as well. May you be especially blessed this Christmas!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

