Home > Christian Living, God's Control, God's Love, Personal, Prayer, Uncategorized > God Has A Bell; He Wants To Hear You Ring It

God Has A Bell; He Wants To Hear You Ring It

Bell2Last week, when my grandson was too sick to go to school, he spent the day at our house. Right after I’d tucked him in bed, he asked, “Do I get to have the bell?”

The “bell” is a hand-sized figurine of an angel gazing at a bird in her hands–not exactly the sort of thing an eleven-year old boy usually wants. However, there’s a small clapper in the hollow of the figurine, and when he grasps the head of the angel and shakes it, the high-pitched sound  is loud enough to be heard throughout the house.

I’ve had the bell for a number of years—it was given to me by a Bible study group—and a few years ago, I decided to put it to good use. Now, whenever anyone in my household gets sick, I put the bell within easy reach of their bedside. That way, if they need something, I can be summoned to their side.

My mother, who was in a wheelchair during the last years of her life, had to use the bell a lot more than most family members. Whenever she did, she would apologize for having to ring the bell. “It’s nice to have an angel when I need help,” she’d say, “but I hate to be a bother.”

My grandson, though, voiced no such sentiment when he rang the bell.

He rang it just to see if I could hear him ringing it. He rang it to ask for a drink, a cracker, a bowl of ice cream. He rang it to call attention to something on the television screen. He rang it to ask for a bowl of ice cream. He rang it because he said he was bored. He rang it to tell me he was happy to be at my house and not in school.

God also has a bell. He calls it prayer. Whenever I ring His  angel bell, He’s at my side immediately. Sometimes, I think I’m using it too often, and  I need to apologize. “I’m so sorry I have to ask for this again. I’m so sorry I can’t  remember what you told me. I’m so sorry I have to ask forgiveness for this sin.”

However, at other times,  I act just like my grandson. I ring it often and long, and I’m continually asking for something that I don’t even need. But, like a grandma who’s just happy her grandson wants to have her at his side, God doesn’t mind when He hears the angel bell ringing. He’s delighted His children want to spend time with Him, even if it’s just to ask Him for something. He’s happy His children believe He’s the answer to everything that matters.

He’s always overjoyed to hear that bell ringing! Ring away!

Philippians 4:6 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”

 

 

  1. Anonymous
    April 17, 2015 at 1:22 pm

    Luana…I just love this and I needed this reminder today – for small matters that are sometimes huge and I needed to be reminded that God is overjoyed to hear a bell ring. Thank you for this timely piece. Nancy Harris PS…An angel bell is a wonderful idea. I’m going to look for one!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

