Home > Christian Living, Devotionals, Theology > This Is A Gross Subject

This Is A Gross Subject

February 6, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

water dirtyUntil recently, I never realized how gross the subject of purification could be. Then, I had to do some research about my refrigerator’s water filter. That’s when I read about the stuff a water purifier is suppose to remove–things like cysts, radioactive particles, arsenic, bacteria, viruses, and chemicals. I found myself getting a little sick just reading about the stuff.

The same week I was researching pure water, I read this from James 4:8, “Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you men of double mind.”

God expects those who desire His presence in their lives to have their hearts pure, to be free from contaminants. However, pure hearts, like pure water, must go through a purification process before being pronounced clean. Like water from a dirty lake, our hearts don’t become pure on their own. Hearts must be cleansed by an outside source.

David, in Psalm 51:10, cried out to God for purification, “Create in me a clean heart, O God!”  Only when we cry out to God for purification does the process of heart cleansing truly begin. Luke, writing in Acts 15:9, says God does His act of purification “by faith.”

Water purification occurs when I connect a water filter to a water source. Heart purification occurs when, by faith, I connect my desire for purity with the source of purity, God Himself.

Matthew 5:8: “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.”

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

