Home > Bible, Devotionals, Worship > I’m Doing Something Different This Year

I’m Doing Something Different This Year

do-something-differentI never make New Year’s resolutions. It’s not that I think there’s something wrong with doing so. I’ve just developed an aversion to the concept, probably because New Year’s resolutions get a lot of bad press.

From comedians to newspaper articles, everywhere you turn, people make fun of New Year’s resolutions. The jokes usually refer to breaking them within a day or even an hour and often involve some form of deprecating humor.

However–and you knew there was going to be a “however” in this piece–I do like the idea of trying something different because a new year has begun.

Here’s what I’m going to be doing differently this year:

Change the way I do my morning Quiet Time: I’ve had a Bible study, prayer and meditation time every morning for the past forty years. I embraced this practice after reading a little booklet entitled Your Time Alone With God. At the end of the book, there was a signature line asking for a commitment to start a morning devotional time. I put my name on that line. Then, underneath my signature, I saw these words, “You’ve now made a commitment to meet the Lord every morning. He’s going to be there. Don’t stand him up.”

I didn’t.

Through these many years, I’ve often followed daily Bible reading plans–reading through the Bible in a year–but, at other times, I’ve concentrated on one book of the Bible for a whole year. Although I’ve often used devotional books, these books have always included daily passages of Scripture. Reading His Word every morning has transformed my life, and I’ve never regretted signing my name on the bottom line.

This year, I’m changing things up a bit because I received a brand new Bible. My old Bible was falling apart, and, for too many years, I put off getting a new one because I’d filled up the margins of the old one with sermon outlines, notes, and tears. I didn’t want to let that go. Now, it’s time to start over.

This year, I’m reading through my new Bible without being able to read my old notes in the margins. I’m writing down new thoughts, shedding new tears, and meditating on newly discovered glories.

As I finished reading through my old Bible last year, knowing I was going to be “breaking in” a new Bible this year, these words from Revelation 21:5 spoke to me: “And He who sits on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new ” And He said, “Write, for these words are faithful and true.”

Even if you have to make a New Year’s resolution to accomplish it, make it a daily practice to read His Word in 2015. You’re sure to find His Words are “faithful and true.”

  1. August 19, 2015 at 12:49 pm

    Having read through the Bible yearly for over a decade, I decided to change up the routine a bit by creating my own schedule. It’s still ‘in the rough’ but available for others on my blog. Here’s the Bible Reading Schedule page http://ow.ly/R6IUR with daily portions in daily posts. ~Joyce

    Like

  2. August 19, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    Thanks for this comment and sharing your Bible Reading Schedule with me. This looks very interesting! I’m always up for new ways of exploring His Word. Be blessed and a blessing today.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

