Home > Bible, Devotionals > Granny’s Garden Looks Good

Granny’s Garden Looks Good

purple weedsOne gorgeous spring day, my grandson and I were in my kitchen having a conversation about the nice weather. I pointed out to him that I had already put my patio furniture outside, and we would soon be able to plant a beautiful flower garden. He looked out the window at my weed-infested flowerbeds and replied, “But, Granny, your garden already looks good.”

In his eyes, the purple flowers produced by the weeds made a good-looking garden. While his assessment was delightful to me, I knew it was flawed because, having seen exquisite flowerbeds before, I recognized that, in its current state, mine was very ugly.

My grandson’s perception of what constituted a good-looking garden was skewed because his standards were minimal and based on limited knowledge. This same principle can be applied to an individual or a society when the perception of what is good or evil is based solely, or in part, on the thoughts, practices, and writings of fallen man and not on the standard supplied to us by God in His Word.

I believe my grandson will adopt a more stringent requirement for what constitutes a beautiful garden if he’s exposed to lovely flowers. In the same way, the more time we spend reading, studying, and meditating on God’s Word, the more our moral standards will be aligned with the standards God requires of us–made possible to all believers by His Spirit living within us.

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and is profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness.” 2 Timothy 3:16.

  1. Bryan Slocomb
    April 4, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Thank you Luwana good devotion this early morning. Bryan Slocomb

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

    • April 4, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Thanks, Bryan. Blessings on your day.

      “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6 mailto:luana@hisglorymyjoy.com and My Blogging Address

      Like

  2. Anonymous
    April 4, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Thank you Luana. Your devotional touched my heart today. Pat Lockhart

    Like

  3. Anonymous
    April 4, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Very True.

    I enjoy your computer page. I just wanted to let you know that I’ve been reading. I hope you all are doing well.

    Ryan Chaffin

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

