Home > Bible, Prayer > I Can Do This!

I Can Do This!

January 25, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

As I continually seek to be a student and teacher of God’s Word, I encounter many different methods, programs and suggestions about how to memorize, use, remember and put into practice what I’ve studied and taught, and it usually doesn’t take me very long when I’m reading through a suggestion to recognize if something will work for me or not.  More often than not though, I find myself saying, “I will never do this” or “I can’t even begin to understand how this would work.”  However, here are three helpful suggestions I recently read that made me say, “I can do this!”

How To Talk To God:  In this blog, Lisa gives some pointers about using God’s Word to talk to Him.  What happens when you speak God’s own words back to Him?  Find out here.

How To Walk By The Spirit:  In this sermon from John Piper on 1 Thessalonians 3, you’ll find a wonderful acronym called APTAT, which you can use to remember what to do when asked to do something you don’t believe you can do. Piper ‘s message is entitled “The Word Of God Is At Work In You,” and the application of this (which is about 30 minutes into the video if you want to watch it) is outlined in the written sermon called Applying The Text To Your Life.  Watch the video or read the sermon here.

How To View The Bible:  Along with many of you, I am reading the Bible through again this year.  In my plan I’m about to finish up Genesis, and I’ve seen the grace of God at every turn, from the moment of creation to God’s dealings with Joseph.  But this will not be the end of God’s grace.  In fact, the grace of God can be found in every book of the Bible.  Dane Ortlund outlines how every book of the Bible shows God’s grace.  You can read it here.

  1. January 25, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    I love your blog Luana. Always so up lifting & motivating.

    Like

  2. February 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Michelle, thanks for your comment. For some reason I just saw this. Hope things are going great for you and RIchard and your family.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

