Home > Prophecy > My Love Of Prophecy

My Love Of Prophecy

November 12, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s no secret, to those who know me well, that I watch a steady stream of news.  Not only do I watch the news, I read two daily newspapers and subscribe to other news sources online.  But I wasn’t always a news aficionado.  I developed an interest in the news not long after James and I were married in 1966 because I learned to love prophecy.  This happened through a series of events:  In the late 1960’s, events were unfolding in Israel that riveted the world’s attention (1967 Six-Day War), and Hal Lindsey’s book, “The Late Great Planet Earth,” became a best seller. In addition, James and I attended a church where Biblical prophecies were regularly taught and discussed.

As I studied the prophetic scriptures, I began to watch the news to see how events happening around the world related to the Bible’s description of  the “last days.”  The Bible describes how the nations will be aligned with each other to fight against Israel, so I became interested in the geopolitical structure of Russia, China, Europe and the Middle East.  I also began to note societal and cultural changes in the world which closely paralleled Paul’s words to Timothy in 2 Timothy 3:1-5: “But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come: For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!”

As my study of prophesy has continued and increased, I have sought to avoid these mistakes:
(1) becoming so obsessed with prophetic study that all other areas of Scripture are neglected,
(2) feeling that I have been given greater knowledge than anyone else and “know” when Christ will return, and (3) failing to consider all the divergent interpretations of Scriptures on the Rapture and His Second Coming by trusted evangelical Bible scholars.

The internet has now become a great resource for understanding how today’s news relates to Bible prophecy.  There are also many websites and blogs devoted to Bible prophecy.  Of course, it’s necessary to exercise both caution and discretion when reading interpretations of events, searching the Scriptures and the beliefs of the website’s author and praying for understanding and wisdom as these sites are explored.

There are several websites and blogs I read regularly, and I’ve listed those in the right-hand column of this blog and entitled them “Prophecy Websites and Blogs.”  Several of these are a compilation of news stories and interpretations of news events in the light of Biblical prophecy.  “Prophecy Update” is the most comprehensive site.  I also plan to do some periodic writing on prophetic events in the coming days under the heading of Prophecy Postings. I welcome your comments and suggestions.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

