Home > Recipes > My Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe

My Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe

October 29, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

On a rainy, cold night this week I made a big pot of my chili, and when I saw the appetizing bowl sitting before me at dinner, I grabbed my iPhone and snapped a quick photo, later posting it on my Facebook page.  I think I got more comments about this post than any I’ve ever written, plus requests for the chili recipe itself, so I’m posting my Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe below.  I actually did win First Place at our church’s Chili Supper Contest one year, so that’s why I’m claiming the title.  It does have some unusual ingredients for chili, so maybe that’s why my husband claims, “This is the best chili ever!”  So, there’s an endorsement from a somewhat biased fan and here’s the recipe:

 

Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe

1 medium onion, chopped
2 lbs. ground beef
2 cans Bush Ranch Beans
1 can chopped green chilis
2 cans Mexican-style stewed tomatoes
2-3 small cans of tomato sauce (depending on how soupy you like your chili)
1 can kernel corn (optional, I don’t eat corn, so I don’t add this)
1-2 tsps of chili powder (I usually do 2 tsps.)
1 package of Taco seasoning mix
1 package of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing mix

Brown onion and ground beef together.  Add the remaining ingredients and cook on low heat or in a crockpot for 2-3 hours.  Makes enough for six big servings.

  1. Becky Miller
    October 29, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Yummy!!! I’ve been looking for a new chili recipe. I have a Taco Soup recipe that uses the dry package of Hidden Valley. It is delicious!! I’ll email it to you.

    Like

    • October 30, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Thanks for the Taco Soup Recipe. It does sound like my chili, and I can’t remember exactly, but I think I got it from the newspaper several years ago. I guess because you add the extra chili powder that makes it chili?

      Like

  2. Nancy Harris
    October 31, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    WelI…I make a pretty mean pot of chili and my ingredients are similar to yours except for the Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing and since I LOVE that dressing I’m going to have to give it a try in my next pot. I sometimes add white hominy for something different.

    Like

  3. October 31, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Oh, James would love for me to add hominy. I will have to try that. That would be like the corn, but probably with more taste. I can take hominy or leave it, but my Dad loves it and has a hominy casserole that is famous with the Senior Adults.

    Like

  4. 123carolb
    February 21, 2012 at 11:36 am

    We are having a chili cookoff at work tomorrow. I was going to make a very elaborate chili but now can’t find the recipe. This looks much easier, so I’m going to try it. I’ve also eaten the taco soup with the ranch dressing mix in it, so I have a feeling I will like this 🙂 I will let you know how it goes 🙂

    Like

  5. February 21, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Do please let me know how you like it. Would love to hear from you.

    Like

  6. 123carolb
    February 22, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Guess who won! Haha ! 🙂 It’s really a great recipe and everyone loved the taste. It had an overwhelming number of the votes! 🙂

    Just curious, is there really a “Bush’s Ranch Beans” product? I didn’t see it so I used the chili beans.

    So many flavors in this…its really a great combo! Thank you for the recipe ! 🙂

    Like

    • February 22, 2012 at 5:12 pm

      No, you’re right. The brand is really just “Ranch Beans.” They are in a black labeled can. But chili beans were a great substitute if you can’t get Ranch Beans.

      So glad you were the winner!! Best tasting chili ever and you proved it once again.

      Thanks so letting me know.

      Luana

      “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6 mailto:luana@hisglorymyjoy.com and My Blog

      Like

      • 123carolb
        February 22, 2012 at 9:37 pm

        That is a wonderful verse. It is one I have put to music, or I should say the Lord gave me music for. 🙂 Blessings….c

        Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

