Home > Personal > Do You Know The Way To Colorado?

Do You Know The Way To Colorado?

October 26, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

James and I have just returned from a vacation in Colorado.  I’m sure I’ll be posting several stories in the next few days about the incredible beauty we encountered and the interesting people we met along the way, but today’s post will have my iPad as a central focus.

Since my iPad has the ability to be connected to the Internet not only through Wi-Fi but also through a 3G network, I told James a few days before we left there really wasn’t any need for him to continue to ask people who had previously been to Colorado Springs the best way to get there because I could just map out the directions using Google maps and the GPS system that comes with the iPad.  Nevertheless, I noticed he slipped a Rand-McNally roadmap in the backseat of the car before we pulled out of the driveway. 

As it turned out, not long after leaving the Oklahoma City metro area, my 3G network began to have spotty reception, and, had it not been for his rather old-fashioned, out-of-touch-with technology insistence on bringing the roadmap, we could have found ourselves wandering around the panhandle of Oklahoma for hours.

But despite that minor glitch in the early part of our trip, the iPad proved useful in the following ways:

1.   As a touring guide: As we pulled off the interstate in southern Colorado and entered a small town to eat breakfast, we noticed all the buildings looked quite old.  As we passed the center of town, James pointed out a statue, “I wonder what that’s all about?”  I had my iPad already opened (playing Words With Friends) and quickly Googled the town’s name.  In no time, we were reading about the town’s history in the early 1800’s, its population and a myriad of other details.  From that point on, we discovered this was an easy and enjoyable way to pass the time and to learn something about the scenery and the cities along our way.

2.   As a means of Bible study:  Simply by accessing the websites of some of our favorite Bible teachers and by plugging a cord into our car’s speaker system, we could listen to God’s Word being explained and exalted when we were seemingly “in the middle of nowhere.”

3As a way to keep records:  I found the notepad on the iPad useful for writing down reminders of things to do when I got home, keeping track of receipts, remembering a book I wanted to read and noting the confirmation number of our hotel reservations.

4.  As a method of locating places:  I used different apps on the phone to find restaurants, a movie theater (with movie reviews), a shopping mall (of course) and a Starbucks.

And, as mentioned, I used it to navigate us to Colorado and back.  Sure, my iPad decided to take us on a route different and longer (maybe 70 miles) from one James later discovered on the roadmap, but on the Googled route we learned many unknown things about the towns we passed through—all because of my useful iPad.

  1. Nancy Harris
    October 27, 2011 at 1:11 am

    Glad you had a wonderful trip and “wandering around the Panhandle of Oklahoma” is not such a bad thing – Arlyn and I lived there for years and “wandering around” is about all there is to do out there! Besides, had you wandered into Beaver City you would have seen the world’s biggest Beaver, holding a huge Cow Chip (you know what those are, I hope) – because Beaver is home to the “World Championship Cow Chip Throwing Contest!” I wonder if your iPad would have told you that story? 🙂

    I love my iPad too and use mine when we travel much the same way you did yours. It even helped us keep track of a tornado as we were trying to make it home to Norman before it hit this area. Needless to say, it got a little too close for comfort. We made it to the garage just as the sirens were blaring – we jumped from the car to the shelter! Nothing like a blow by blow description (pun intended) by the local weathermen when a tornado is breathing down your neck and you are racing down the interstate!

    Like

    • October 27, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Nancy, we did have a wonderful trip. It was a great blessing. I guess we missed Beaver City! However, we did stay in Guymon overnight, and I looked up Beaver City and saw that it was definitely nearby. I’m glad to know you would be a resource if we ever wanted to travel that way again because I wouldn’t want to miss that large Cow Chip. When we lived in Gainesville, Texas during our seminary days, we had a border collie whose delight was to go down the road to a nearby farm and bring cow chips home to us. We called him our Cow Chip Retriever Dog. Really bad breath!

      We miss you guys at Bethel, but I’m happy to know we can take shelter at your house when the tornados come knocking at our door. You’re right, that’s another reason to love my iPad.

      Blessings, Luana

      “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6 mailto:luana@hisglorymyjoy.com and My Blog

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

